Showing posts from 2004

Narayana Dasa I: Basics

The dasa starts from the stronger of the two signs, the Lagna or the 7th house, since they are the seat of truth, otherwise known as the satya-peethas. To ascertain the stronger of the two signs, the lagna or the 7th, following rules can be followed. The rules are culled out from Brhat Parasari Hora Shastra and the Jaimini Sutras and beautifully presented in the Narayana Dasa book by Pt. Sanjay Rath.

The reader of the Narayana Dasa book would find that there is difference in the sequence of the rules given. To them I shall say that the sequence is revised based on my interaction with the author and my experience.

Rule-1: The sign with a planet (or with more planets) is considered stronger than a sign without a planet (or with lesser number of planets).

Rule-2:The sign which is aspected by Mercury, Jupiter or its Lord is stronger.

Rule-3: If the signs have equal number of planets and they are similarly aspected by Jupiter, Mercury and the lord, then the status of the plane…

Gemstones in Jyotish I

Prescription of Gemstone is one of the most important aspects of remedies in Jyotish Shastra. The use of Gemstone is also endorsed by shastras such as Garuda Purana which gives elaborate description of the nature of the gemstones and their use. Even though gemstone use is one of the most popular source of remedies for all ills of the material world, may it be health, wealth or fortune, it is fraught with many misconceptions and erroneous notions of their selection and prescription. This article envisages providing consistent principles which would help the Jyotishas and laymen to select the right gemstones.

GEMSTONES OF YOGAKARAKAS Since the gemstones enhance the influence of the planet in the life of the person, the gemstones for the planets giving yogas should always be chosen. To know the yoga givers or the yoga-karakas in a horoscope, studying classics such as Brhat Parashara Hora shastra should be studied. However, I shall provide here some guidelines which can help in choosing th…

The 12 Houses of Zodiac- From BPHS

This article was compiled by Sarat Chander one of the foremost student of Pt. Sanjay Rath, based on the teachings of Pt. Rath. It was given to me long back, which I am putting here, with my own additions, for the benefit of the Jyotish Enthusiasts.
First House

देहं रूपं च ज्ञानं च वर्णं चैव बलाबलम्‌।
सुखं दुःखं स्वभावञ्च लग्नभावान्निरीक्षयेत्‌॥ २॥
deham rūpamca jñānam ca varnam caiva balābalam
sukham duhkham svabhāvañca lagnabhāvānnirīkshayet ..2..

deham - body; rūpam- looks; ca- as well as; jñānam - knowledge / intelligence; ca- as well as; varnam – appearance; caiva- ca+eva – and also; balābalam – strengths and vigour; sukham duhkham - bliss and unhappiness; svabhāvañca- nature; lagnabhāvān- from Lagna Bhava; nirīkshayet- judge

Maharishi says to Maitreya that the physique, appearance, intellect (also the brain), the complexion of the body, strength and vigour, weakness, happiness, grief and the inner nature of the person is to be determined from the Lagna or Ascendant or the 1st bhava…

Badhakasthana & Badhakesh

In Prasna Marga, Harihara has given the analysis of an horsocope based on Badhaka point of view. He says that for all movable signs, the 11th house therefrom is the badhaka sthana, for all fixed signs, the 9th therefrom are their badhakasthana and for all the dual signs, the 7th therefrom are their badkasthanas. Thus for the 12 signs of the zodiac, the badhakasthanas are:

In this method, the quadrants of the house of harm can also be harmful. This is based on the principle of Paraspara Karaka i.e. doing each other’s job when the planets/signs are placed in mutual quadrants. Paraspara Karaka means, you pat my back and I shall pat yours or you kick my back and I shall kick yours. The patting or kicking is dependent on the natural relationship of the planets under consideration. Thus if natural enemies are placed in the quadrants, they shall fight and when natural friends are placed in such position, they shall work with each other in harmony.

From the placement of the badhak…