Showing posts from November, 2005

Yogas in Muhurtha

There are 5 elements of a Panchanga (pancha- 5, anga- organ/ elements), they are namely.

1. Vara : Weekday
2. Tithi : Lunar day
3. Karana : Half of a lunar day
4. Nakshatra : Lunar asterism
5. Yoga : Sun, Moon combination

* * * * * * * *
(Auspicious Combination)
* * * * * * * *
I Siddha Yoga:

This is formed due to the combination of the Tithi and vara

There are 5 categories of Tithis:Nanda : Pratipad, Shasthi, Ekadasi
Bhadra : Dvitiya, Saptami, Dvadasi
Jaya : Tritiya, Astami, Trayodasi
Rikta : Chaturthi, Navami, Chaturdasi
Purna : Panchami, Dasami, Purnima, Amavasya
The 5 categories of Tithis are governed by 5 elements of nature which are given below. When a tithi falls on a weekday (Vara) governed by the same element as that of the tithi a very auspicious time is formed which goes by the name of Siddha Yoga.

Following combination of Tithis and the Varas constitute the siddha yoga:
Nanda : Friday :Venus : Jala Tattva
Bhadra : Wednesday :Mercury : Prithv…

Rasi Tulya Navamsa

Similar to the technique of Navamsa Tulya Rasi, in which the Rasi is juxtaposed over the Navamsa, there is yet another technique in which the Navamsa is Juxtaposed over the Navamsa which goes by the name of Rasi Tulya Navamsa.

The Rasi Tulya Navamsa technique is widely used in the Nadi Literature and can be used for normal natal chart analysis as well as timing events with Transits. The concept is that you can project the Navamsa on the Rasi chart and read the results therefrom.

For example take my chart.

Rasi Lagna - Sagittarius
Sun in Rasi - Leo
Sun in Navamsa - Gemini

While the usual way we see the impact of Sun on our life is through its placement in the rasi chart, we can also see by projecting the Sun's navamsa position on the rasi chart, which in this case comes to the 7th house and hence would influence my seventh house affairs.

To differenciate between the rasi and navamsa placement, maharishis have suggested different terms for the projected placements. They are as follows:

1. L…

64th Navamsa & Cuspal Transit

64th Navamsa as well as 22nd Drekkana is given utmost importance in dilineating evils on a native. A small note on this issue is presented in this article.

* * * * * *
If the Lagna falls in the first navamsa then the 63rd navamsa would be the last navamsa of the 7th house and the 64th navamsa would be the 1st navamsa of the 8th house. Thus whichever navamsa lagna is in, the same navamsa of the 8th sign from the Lagna becomes the 64th navamsa. However, if you take the equal house system only, then you can say that the navamsa of the cusp of the 8th house falls in the 64th Navamsa.

* * * * * *
In my chart, the lagna is in Sagittarius rasi in the 3rd Navamsa i.e., Gemini. For the sagittarius rasi, the navamsa starts from Aries, since Sagittarius is a dual sign and for all dual signs, the Navamsa starts from the 5th from it. Lagna being in the 3rd Navamsa shall fall in Gemini in the Navamsa Chart.

Now the 8th house from Sagittarius is Cancer and the 3rd Navamsa of Cancer should be Virgo. Hence…

Navamsa Tulya Rasi

Transit is a very wide topics and many classical texts have given many clues on the interpretation of Transits in both Rasi and divisionals. Here is one article written on "13 Feb 2005", based on a discussion on a forum, showing Juxtaposition of the Transit Rasi Chart on the Natal Navamsa and reading Results therefrom.

Some verses from Deva Keralam talks on the Transit of various planets in the rasi chart while considering the planets in the same rasi in the Navamsa Chart. This principle of reckoning Rasi in the Navamsa chart is called the Navamsa Tulya Rasi.

It is known in the SJC tradition that if a planet is transiting the Rasi Chart in a sign, it will influence that particular sign in all divisional chart. For example, now Saturn is Transiting Gemini, which means that it will influence Gemini in all divisional charts. Somebody who has Moon in Gemini or Taurus or Cancer in Dasamsa would face the effect of Sade sati in the area of work. For example take the case of one of fr…