Understanding placement of a Graha in a Bhava

The results due placement of a Graha in a Bhava can be attributed to various attributes and significations of the Graha.

The results attributed to a Graha placement is largely due to the interactions of the significations of the Graha with the significations of the Bhava where the Graha is placed.

The significations attached to a Grahas are a combination the natural significations as well as some Bhava significations. The Bhava significations which are carried by the Graha are mentioned below.

Bhava signification 1: Lordship in Naisargika Kundali. Each Graha behave in some specific way due to its lordship of certain bhava in the naisargika Kundali. For instance Saturn rules in the 10H and 11H in the naisargika kundali, hence it has the ability to influence the 10H and 11H matters based on its placement, aspects and yogas for all the Lagnas.

Bhava signification 2: Bhava karaka. A Graha becomes governor of certain Bhava based on its natural propensity. For instance Saturn is the governor of the Dusthanas viz. 6H, 8H, 12H. In addition Saturn governs the 10H. Since Saturn is the governor of the 10H and also the naisargika 10L, it is also known as the Karma-karaka and hence has strong influence on the livelihood of the native irrespective of its connection with the 10H in a horoscope.

No doubt why Nadi texts recommends reading professional inclinations from the placement of Saturn in various signs, Bhava and the influences of other Grahas on the Saturn by being placed in the Trine or the 7H from Saturn.

Bhava signification 3: Uccha and Neecha Bhava. Grahas attain uccha and neecha in certain signs in the zodiac. When the naisargika kundali is mapped to the bhava kundali, we can see similar influence of the Grahas when placed in certain bhavas. For instance Saturn attains Uccha in Libra and Neecha Aries. When this is mapped to the bhava kundali, we can say that Saturn attain Uccha in the 7H and neecha in the Lagna. Perhaps that is why Saturn attains Dikbala in the 7H and Marana Karaka Avastha in the Lagna.

Bhava signification 4: Dikbala. There are four major directions in life indicated by the four Kendras i.e., Dharma, Artha, Kama and Moksha. These four directions are mapped to the Kendras as Dharma-Lagna, Artha-10H, Kama-7H and Moksha-4H. The Kendras are the controller of all the other Bhavas in the Kundali. Based on the natural significations and propensities of the Grahas they attain Dikbala in one of the four Kendras. Saturn is Vayu Graha and hence it attains Dikbala in the 7H which is Vayu Kendra ruling Kama or Desires. Saturn no doubt is an important Graha in the matters of fulfillment of desires.

Bhava signification 5: Marana Karaka Sthana. There are certain positions where a Graha becomes utterly powerless in giving any good results and on the other hand can cause suffering and death. Saturn attains Marana karaka avastha in the Lagna, Sun in the 12H, Moon in the 8H etc.

Bhava signification 6: Enemy Bhava. Note the signs falling in the 3-6-10-11 and 7 from the Mulatrikona of the Graha. When these signs are mapped to the Bhava Kundali, the graha is harmful to the Bhava significations. For instance Saturn’s Mulatrikona is Aq and he is harmful for Ar, Cn, Sc, Sg and Le. It is specifically harmful for all signs excluding Sg as it is friendly towards Jupiter’s other sign Pi. When the signs are mapped to Bhava Kundali, we arrive at Lg, 4H, 5H, 8H and 9H. Saturn harms the bhava significations of these houses.

On the other hand, Saturn is friendly towards signs of Ve, Me and Pi. Hence Saturn gives good results pertaining to the bhava mapped to the mentioned signs i.e., Ta-2H, Li-7H, Ge-3H, Vi-6H, Pi-12H. Since Saturn rules the naisargika 10H and 11H, Saturn gives good results in these Bhavas as well.

To understand the placement of a Graha in a Bhava, we need to understand impact of the various graha and Bhava significations in isolation and then synthesize to arrive at the overall picture. The Bhava placement of a Graha is additionally colored by 2 important influences i.e., the Rasi where the Graha is placed and the lordship of the Graha as per different Lagnas. For instance, when evaluating Saturn’s influence on the Lagna, we note that there is much negativity involved as Saturn carries with it the energies of the Dusthanas and attain Marana Karaka avastha here. So by default the results of Saturn in the Lagna Bhava is negative. However, what happens when Saturn is placed in own sign, the sign of the Friends, the exaltation signs.

When assessing the results of placement of a Graha in a Bhava, one also needs to look at its various Drstis. The Drsti’s connect two Bhavas i.e., the Bhava from where the aspect is happening as well as the aspected Bhava. So when Saturn is placed in the Lagna, it influences the 3H, 7H and 10H matters as well.

Om Tat Sat


Popular posts from this blog

Marriage Compatibility

Progeny in Jyotish II: Number & sex of children

Lagna Bhava I: Lagna lord in different houses