Planetary Avasthas (Ajit Krishnan)

There are three fundamental types of avasthas: baladi, sayanadi and deeptadi. These deal with the states of the body, mind and soul respectively. Baladi avasthaas deal with the physical state of body systems. Sayanadi avasthas deal with the states (awareness) of the mind. Deeptadi avasthas deal with the light of the soul.


The baladi avasthas are determined from the drekkana division of a sign. The three drekannas of a rasi are divided into child, middle age, and old age respectively. Since baladi avasthas deal with the physical body (or bodily systems), they are reckoned in the opposite order for even signs—with the first drekkana showing old age. The Sun and Mars give best results as children, Venus and Jupiter in middle age, and Moon and Saturn in old age. Mercury, the eternal adolescent represents the spirit of man. He rules the natural upachayas of nature (3rd and 6th houses). He is always enthusiastic, full of hope and high spirited. As a result is strong in all three ages. A strong lagnesh shows someone full of energy, while a strong Saturn would show a strong excretory system.

The baladi avasthas above depend on the drekkana division. The shastamsa division (half of drekanna) can also be used. Here, there are 6 states from childhood to death. In order, Sun, Mars, Venus, Jupiter, Moon and Saturn are strong in each of the 6 shastamsas. Once again, Mercury is strong everywhere.


The Sayanadi avasthas deal with the state of the mind, which constantly moves between rest and activity. An analogy here will help matters. A car can be driven as long as there is gas. When it is stopped, it is either to fill it up, or to take rest. In this manner, we can examine the state of the mind. The energy of the body comes from the food one eats. We can only eat when we are comfortable, and this happens in one of three places: swakshetra (home), moola Trikona (work) or in exaltation (picnic/party). We only eat when we are both at rest and comfortable. The intrinsic nature/energies of a planet come from swakshetra sign. The energy from which he executes his work comes from his Moola Trikona sign. The energy from which he succeeds in all activities comes from his exaltation.

We eat only when we are both comfortable and stationary. Similarly, the planets recharge only when they are stationary, and comfortable (own sign, MT, exaltation). Jupiter remains in a sign for about a year, and transits Sagittarius once in 12 years. It is stationary in Sagittarius with Sagittarius lagna rising once in 144 years. As a result, it is very rare for a soul to be born with this particular combination.

When this occurs in Pisces, spiritual charging takes place. In Sagittarius, recharging of dharma takes place. When it occurs in Cancer, recharging of Sukha takes place. Once every 12 years, when Jupiter transits Sagittarius, and the recharging of dharma takes place, the idol of Jagannath Prabhu at Puri is moved to a new sharira/idol.

Whenever the charging of Saturn, Jupiter, or Mars takes place, the Sun (source of knowledge) is always in trines to it. Only when the planets are in perfect harmony with the world around them can they recharge, and this combination only takes place with the Sun in trines. This is the reason that trines are the definition of perfect harmony. By chanting the Gayatri mantra, all planets in trines to Sun are automatically energized.

The sayanadi avasthas of the planet should be examined in relation to the natural lordships of caste. The behaviour of the sattvic brahmana Jupiter who is perfectly still, and whose very nature is contemplative will be very different from the behaviour of the fiery kshatriya Mars who is forced to remain still. The mind of the first will be calm and at peace, while the mind of the latter will be highly agitated.


jon said…
free palm reading guide info is so cheesy but we were looking at it anyway...why i dont know. I guess it is fun to play around online. Anyway, I saw your free palm reading guide posts and though it was cool...Alright, well...have a great night, I am back to free palm reading guide surfing LOL : )


Popular posts from this blog

Marriage Compatibility

Lagna Bhava I: Lagna lord in different houses

Progeny in Jyotish II: Number & sex of children