Underline Theme of Universe- The Pancha Tattvas

agnibhüminabhastoyaväyavaù kramato dvija |
bhaumädénäà grahäëäà ca tattvänéti yathäkramam || BPHS 20||

Maharishi Parasara declares the rulership of the tattvas by the 5 planets in mentioned sloka which means, Agni (Fire), Bhumi (Earth), Akasha (Ether), Jala (Water) and Vayu (Air) are the tattvas sequentially governed by the five planets starting from Mars, viz, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn.

In the process of human evolution, we reach nearer to the lumeneries who have the near perfect motion as they do not vary their speeds with time. The anti-thesis of the lumineries are the nodes who are always retrograde and govern the cycle of repeated births (Rahu) and final liberation (Ketu). Barring these four planets, the five planets namely Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn represent the theme of the universe, by governing the 5 tattvas, which influences each and every activity of both the manifested and unmenifested universe. Thus, the strength of the tattvas is only represented by the 5 planets and hence only these five planets are involved in the pancha-mahapurusha yoga.


For a rational mind, it is difficult to believe how can the five Tattvas (basic elements of nature), the fire, the earth, the air, the water and the Ether govern which cannot be witnessed, govern the material universe. However, when we try understanding what is that force which governs that everything flow they do, what the rg veda call the Rta or the ways of the creation, we tend to see that there is a common thread which connects between all apparently diverse creation of the universe. We see that all the creation process in the universe follows a common them from the creation to dissolution. To appreciate this I shall put forward the creation and dissolution cycle of three divergent things, where we shall see that the theme is the same in all of them.


Most of us know that billions of years back, when Sun was formed, a few specks of fire balls got separated from the main body of Sun and started orbiting it. Our own earth was one of them, which was not anything more than a ball of molten elements representing the fiery element at work at the creation stage. Millions of years later, it started cooling down and then the crust of the earth started forming, representing the predominance of earthy element, whereby the planet started gaining shape and solidity. Thereafter came the state of formation of the atmosphere whereby the gases of the planets started cooling down and forming the atmosphere, which is aided by big bursts of gases from the core of the earth in the form of volcanic eruptions. This stage is represented by the Airy element. The fourth and the final stage was the formation of the oceans and rivers, whereby the condensed clouds of the gases started pouring the surface of earth, further cooling the surface for existence and forming one of the basic necessities for further creation of life on the planet. This state is heralded by the predominance of Watery element. At all those stages, we must understand that the basic theme is predominance of the elements in t he creation process is never violated, as this happens in the guidance of the Akasha Tattvas which is always predominant at all stages and forms the stratum or the foundation, where the creation takes place.


Our own creation starts with the incoming of the energy in the form of soul from the father which marks the predominance of the fiery element. We can take the birth process itself marked by the fiery element. Once the infant is born, he starts learning the basics of everything; he grows up and starts earning, and all these processes of sustenance is signified by the earthy element, which stands for consolidation and sustenance of the creation.

Now once the basic necessities of us are fulfilled, we transcend to the next state, the state of the intellectuals, whereby we start speculating and use our intellect to go beyond the boundaries of human limitations. This state is marked by the predominance of Airy element. And the final state is the state of liberation or dissolution of the self, which is marked by the watery element.


Any creation of new state is marked by some kind of anarchy, revolution which requires huge amount of energy, marked by the predominance of the fiery element. This ends with overthrowing the old king and installation of new king. The formation of a new state start with formation of new policies of laws and orders and their implementation to end the state of anarchy and dynamism and this is marked by the predominance of the Earthy element. There after the trade and commerce takes it roots in the newly formed state and the state stabilizes financially.

Once the state is financially stable, it begins the state of intellectual and cultural development marked by the airy element and all these ends with ultimate disintegration signified by the watery element, which again marks a new beginning of the state.


We note here in all the cases that, the creation process start with a lot of dynamism, which requires a lot of energy and marked by a state of high degree of dynamism and fluidity. This state of creation is represented by the fiery element, which means action. Thus this is associated with the Dharma principle of human evolution, which means protection by righteous means.

The state which follows next is the state of cooling off or consolidation. Here the basic necessities are fulfilled and new order materializes. Thus this state is associated with the Artha principle, which means to sustain.

The next state is the state of going beyond the limitations of the material existence, intellectual development and development of art and culture. This state is associated with the Airy element and the Kama Principle. We note here that the airy signs of the zodiac, Aquarius, Libra and Gemini represent the intellectuals.
The next state is the state of dissolution of the liberation from the material boundaries. This process is represented by the watery element and is associated with the Moksha principle.


Popular posts from this blog

Marriage Compatibility

Lagna Bhava I: Lagna lord in different houses

Progeny in Jyotish II: Number & sex of children